top of page

Interview W/ Fabiana Passoni


Chronicle - Fabiana's life, her trials and tribulations, her talent and determination, and her success not only in music but physically and spiritually should be a lesson for all of us. Chronicle - You were running a Music School in Brazil; tell us a little about that. Fabiana - Back in the day (1990’s) my music career was going pretty well in my hometown of Poços de Caldas. I was a member of a very successful cover band and my (ex)husband and I decided to open up a School of Music. He pretty much managed the business end and gave guitar classes while I gave voice classes most of the day (50+ students a week). It was a good set-up; classes during the day and gigs in the evenings and on weekends. By the way, it’s been very rewarding to see a few of those students become voice coaches, and one even earned a Doctorate in Music (Voice). I still play with some of those cats in the band when I have shows in Brazil. Chronicle - What made you decide to come to the states? Had you ever been to America? Fabiana - I grew up singing Brazilian country music (Sertanejo) and moved on to rock & pop in my late teenage years. It worked for me as a far as being ‘successful,’ but deep inside of me it wasn’t really the type of music that I wanted to sing. I would listen to Leny Andrade and Ella Fitzgerald and dream about a fusion of jazz with Brazilian rhythms. What better place to achieve those dreams than New York City. We closed down the music school and came to the United States. I had never been outside of Brazil before and only knew how to say one sentence in English: “I will be staying here for a few days.” Chronicle - When you landed in New York City what did you think of it? Did you have connections there? Was it hard at first? Fabiana - Well, at first I was totally overwhelmed by it all. I mean, I was coming from a town of about 150,000 people to a city of 8 million and I couldn’t even speak the language. I had a few friends who had been there a while so they certainly helped me understand the basic rules of survival in America. But even with that knowledge it was very difficult -if not terrifying- because I didn’t know the language. Somehow, I turned that all into a very positive life lesson as I became determined to conquer the language. Chronicle - How long did you stay in New York City? Fabiana - I stayed a little over 6 years. During that time I still managed to visit my hometown once or twice a year. Chronicle - What prompted you to go to California? And at this point were you unaware of the physical problem that was about to change your life? Fabiana - Unfortunately, in New York City I wasn’t able to fulfill my dream of singing jazz. I didn’t have a problem finding gigs, but I was still singing the same type of music that I thought I had left back in my hometown. The opportunities just weren’t there at that time and basic survival won out over my dreams. That all changed when I met a philanthropist who happened to see me perform and believed in my dream. He gave me the opportunity to record my first CD “É Minha Vez” (It’s My Turn) but I would have to move to California to do that. It was a huge decision for me, but in the end I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity. I knew nothing about what would become a huge medical issue. I was still naïve and only thought my dreams were finally coming together and that I really could control my direction in life. Of course, that all changed quite quickly. Chronicle - When were you diagnosed with breast cancer? Fabiana - I released that first CD in March of 2007. I was on top of the world. The music was being played on ‘Brazilian music stations’ throughout the world. I had a CD release party at the Catalina Jazz Club in Hollywood and had even been offered a contract to sing bossa nova in Japan. I turned that offer down because a couple of ‘heavy hitters’ heard my music and offered to invest in a new project (a 2nd CD followed by a tour). About mid-summer I discovered a lump in my breast (through self-exam). So I went back to Brazil to have it checked out. My doctor there wanted to remove the lump and surrounding tissue for tests. I agreed. Chronicle - Knowing you I bet you didn’t even skip a beat, but how did you deal with it emotionally? Fabiana - Well, first of all, at that time (in my small hometown) you had to wait 2 weeks to find out the results. I wasn’t nervous or worried because I was young and as far as I knew (or believed) breast cancer was confined to women in their 50’s and 60’s. I can still remember sitting across the desk from the doctor as he told me the results and pushed a box of Kleenex toward my direction. I did ‘skip a beat’ and broke down emotionally. He told me once the crying was all done it would be time to determine the next steps. I cried all the way home, cried all evening until I feel asleep from exhaustion. Little did I know that my boyfriend (now my husband) was on the computer researching and looking at different options where I could receive treatment. He filled out a few forms online and by noon the next day I had been accepted as a patient at the Moore’s Cancer Center at UC San Diego. From that point on I began seeing things in a different perspective. I took control and learned about the disease and what I could expect. And I also got mad and became very determined to beat it. But my musical career was 100% on hold for a while.

Chronicle - What was the time frame from when you were diagnosed with cancer and the birth of your triplets? Fabiana - The tests, surgeries, and chemotherapy lasted about a year. Then I was put on a drug for 5 years that would reduce the possibility of a recurrence. After a year of that I decided I wanted to have children so with the blessing of my oncologist I stopped taking the drug and became pregnant. Finding out I was having triplets was a blessing but the beginning of another tough physical ordeal. About 1 month before delivery I discovered another lump in the same area; and I could do nothing about it. The triplets were born and a new battle against cancer began. To make a long story short about all of that, this summer I will be cancer free for 5 years. Chronicle - Was it the effects of chemotherapy that started you to a slimmer you? Fabiana - I was a “large” woman when I moved to New York City. At one point I just decided I was tired of being that way and adopted a healthier lifestyle. Over the course of a few years I lost 125 pounds on my own by going to gym and changing my habits in the kitchen. Chemotherapy was a horrible ordeal. I would lose 15 pounds during the week of chemo and then gain it back in between treatments from the steroids. Chemotherapy didn’t have a thing to do with a slimmer me; but it did have a profound effect on me as a singer/songwriter. The only part of the day where I felt half-way human was in the shower. And there, in the shower, one day, I composed a song called “Natural” (all in Portuguese) that talked about the healing powers of water. From that point on I have always said that my battle with cancer put me on a journey not only of survival but a discovery of my own personal musical style. Chronicle - I know you have a rigid workout regimen now, were you active before this whole ordeal? Fabiana - Well, as I mentioned I was already into fitness while I was in New York City. However, in California I started developing a passion for it. I became a certified spinning instructor, then a certified Turbo Kick Boxing instructor. I never really ‘instructed’ - I just wanted to learn all about it. It has all evolved into something I really enjoy. In fact, I attend a national fitness conference every year. Chronicle - Ok, enough of the “peeling back the onion” questions. Tell us about your new CD “Inner Bossa.” Fabiana - I think “Inner Bossa” is my best work so far. I am so excited about this project. I have a great working relationship with my producer, engineer and the musicians. With this synergy of people that really love music, we have become very creative while expressing our feelings; and music for me is all about feelings. I think you can hear that in all of the songs. At first we wanted all of the music to be defined by the bossa nova rhythm reminiscent of the days of Tom Jobim & Stan Getz. That worked in the beginning, but then the CD became even more personal and presents the more intimate side of me. Chronicle - I’ve noticed you are using social media to get out your message. What would you tell young musicians wanting to market their CD’s? Fabiana - I have to laugh a little about this question. Come on Bernie! Are you implying that I’m addicted to Facebook and Instagram? Hey people! Bernie is addicted to Twitter! Just half-kidding of course but social media does play a large part in marketing these days. It’s somewhat inexpensive and can be very effective yet social media is changing all of the time so you have to keep up on it. New, young, old, even established musicians need to take advantage of that. But I still think the best way to market CD’s is through LIVE SHOWS. Chronicle - So what’s next for Fabiana Passoni? Fabiana - I am so excited about the rest of this year. I’m involved in several new projects. Of course I am just in the beginning of releasing Inner Bossa, and that is where most of my focus will be for the next few weeks. Several radio stations around the world are already spinning tracks and our U.S. radio promotion campaign just began on May 15th. Time will tell, but I am very optimistic about it. I’m also very excited about “As Três Meninas” (The Three Girls), a trio who came together as if by fate. The three of us (all band leaders) got together for a gig at a wedding last summer (rather spur of the moment) and enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to continue and see where it takes us. We’ve booked some great gigs for this summer in California (including the Berkeley World Music Festival coming up in June) and hope to do some shows in other states as well. We are seriously thinking about recording a CD. I am also working with a local jazz guitar player on a project called “Just a duo” for smaller local gigs and private events. There may be another surprise or two before 2015 is over. I always like to test out a new song or concept at one of my shows. Last October was the ‘test’ for Day Dreaming at Yoshi’s Jazz Club in Oakland, CA and gave me the idea for the “Inner Bossa” CD. In June I will be ‘testing’ another idea during my show at Spaghettini in Seal Beach, CA. Stay tuned! Chronicle - Thanx my beautiful and talented song bird and friend, and thank you for being so candid. You are truly an inspiration to all of us.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page