top of page

Exclusive Interview w/ Sandy Shore


An Interview with Sandy Shore Founder/President of Smoothjazz.com

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/sandyshore WebSite - www.Smoothjazz.com

Chronicles So Sandy, do you ever get bored, and do you ever sleep? Just kidding, but seriously what's the hardest part about your gig? Sandy Never... lol. I used to play with the toys AND the boxes they came in... I don't really know what it feels like to be bored. The hardest part is probably just that... I have a lot on my plate in regards my work as I rarely say no to projects and phone calls - and I have some 300 email per day coursing their way through my inbox - hence, I find myself a bit overwhelmed at times. Chronicles We enjoy your tweets and FaceBook posts. they’re fun and tell us a lot about you. How important is it for new artists to share and be real on today's social sites? Sandy Thank you! I think it's very important for artists (new and experienced) to share their perspective of life. We can't all be clever and witty, but we all can be honest and open and that's how to get people to connect with you. In this connection, we magnetize friends who are willing to support us. I see social media as having our own personal radio stations and/or newspapers. It's exciting to fill it with content that has meaning to us personally. Chronicles You know we're enamored with you personally and how, in our eyes, you truly saved and expanded the format of Smooth Jazz! But it didn't happen over night. Tell us a little about the humble beginnings of Smoothjazz.com and some of the challenges you faced. Sandy I appreciate your opinion of my efforts all these years, it means a lot to me that you've even noticed! While I do know for certain that I have worked tirelessly to not only sustain this genre, but to make it hip, cool and relevant, I know that I'm not alone. Funny thing though, the artists are more my allies in this journey than other radio stations or industry outlets; as the artists are more than happy to make new music that they love as opposed to making music to "fit" radio and remain inside of a very limited box.You got it right... it hasn't happened overnight for us! In fact, in many ways, it feels like we just started. New Media, as they call it, keeps you on your feet! It's challenging to stay at the forefront of technology in general, and we've had to find creative ways of doing so and even pushing the edge forward with very limited resources. That means long work days and weeks... thankfully we love the challenge! We have at least 10 platforms to our Media outlet at SmoothJazz.com. That includes two radio stations (our sister chill out station, SmoothLounge.com), websites, email newsletter publications, social media, Mobile app, YouTube channel, Soundcloud channel, and so on. When we started, we were a website with a dream of becoming a radio station! In 1995 when I bought the domain, there wasn't such a thing as streaming audio; and in fact, I had to keep the faith for 5 years until that became a reality! When we launched SmoothJazz.com, in the spring of 2000, we were one of 3 stations on the WWW - and the first jazz station - and for sure the first women-owned and operated Internet only radio station! Chronicles I know all the traveling must get tedious, what do you do to keep it fresh? Sandy I think you definitely have to pace yourself. For me, I have created travel seasons that I stick to the best that I can. I rotate them a bit to keep life interesting, and I try to stay home for several months at a time to find grounding. On the other side of that coin, I like to be gone for a month or more to really feel like I'm not just on a short trip, but rather I'm on a journey. I do feel like a Global citizen and I love immersing myself in other cultures and meeting new people. That quote is so perfect for me, "I’m in love with cities I've never been to and people I've never met." Chronicles What do you think makes the difference between SmoothJazz.com Global Radio and other Smooth Jazz stations? Sandy I don't really sit and compare stations very often. (I think it would drive me crazy at this point of my career.) But I do think there's room for all kinds of programming notions in this format... (old school, nu school, R&B, hits, covers, etc). I guess my overall impression of the other stations I hear in my travels, is that they tend to play it safe for the most part - and to me, safe is boring. I think that there's a definite place for conservative radio; however, we program SmoothJazz.com to offer music fans a genuinely exciting mix of music with diversity and 100% guaranteed the newest tracks first from favorites and new discovery artists.

Chronicles When I started doing more smooth I always used to say, "There are only two kinds of artists in smooth jazz, those at the top and those at the top." SmoothJazz.com seems to thrive on young and new artists; does this change the landscape of the format? And does it bring new listeners to our genre? Sandy I say "There are only two kinds of artists in Smooth Jazz, those with new music and those with new music." ;-) I mean, we all serve a purpose, and to me, SmoothJazz.com will do the most good in this world by utilizing our reach to introduce the global audience to the newest and latest music from favorite contemporary recording artists and new discoveries. You can find the format classics - the tried and true hits and the same ol' same ol’ - on radio everywhere; but very few places can you find the hottest, newest, most exciting music made by some of the most amazing musicians on the planet in one location! We like to blend a deep mix; however, we lean toward the new because I believe true music lovers like to discover new music. And we are a true music lover's radio station! Chronicles The one thing about what you've managed to do is make Broadcast Architecture and Clear Channel programming obsolete. I've noticed in other interviews you never mention them by name: Is that on purpose? And why do you think your format worked and their programming failed? Sandy I see you've caught on to my big picture plan... to single-handedly bring down the big box broadcasters! Ha! I'm flattered that you think that I would have such power, and maybe in a grass roots way we did play a part in de-railing some of the old notions of radio programming, and the belief system that the people don't know what they want to hear. But, honestly, these folks didn't need any help from me in becoming obsolete. Sometimes businesses get in their own way and so big that they lose track of the pulse or their audience and hence their objectives. We have never allowed ourselves to lose track of our goals, and I think the tenacity of SmoothJazz.com is what has driven us forward all these years as well as the support of our artist, label, and festival friends - and of course our listeners! Chronicles I'm curious about what made you pick up the torch for Smooth Jazz? Sandy I know, I'm such a pop chick. I have always loved the idea of this music becoming mainstream to the point where listeners of all ages and nationalities can really enjoy not only the feel-good nature of the instrumental grooves, but also the stylishness of the vocals. Clear back to my first gig as a DJ in this format at The Wave in L.A. in the 1980's. Musically speaking, we live in the most ideal time ever: There's jazz in the hip hop and hip hop in the jazz. Nathan East is in Daft Punk and Daft Funk becomes Nathan East's chart-topping solo single. We have discovered bands like The Peet Project in Budapest, twenty-somethings who lead with violin and sax with sweet soulful vocals and as much funkatude as the Black Eyed Peas! Candy Dulfer is one bad ass, funky sax babe, while Mindi Abair is rockin' her sax. It seems Bob James gets younger every year with his creative compositions and in the meantime he's inspired some of the most brilliant composers, like Brian Culbertson, and new young players on the SJ scene, like Jonathan Fritzen! I love this music because it really is the best musicianship of all genres - musicians' musicians! And when we nurture their creativity and encourage them to make music that they love, well, it's a whole other world and certainly not your father's Smooth Jazz! ;-) Chronicles I have to hand it to you, you put together a fantastic support team: Donna, Jamie, Sue "Roxy," Esther and Scott. From the outside it looks carefully planed out, how did it all come together? Sandy Thank you! They say never to work with your friends or family: I have done exactly the opposite! I am attracted to people based on their passion and intellect. I believe I am surrounded, for the most part, with a team of people who really value my vision. But they are anything but 'yes' men and women; and, in fact, often push back and challenge me. This keeps me real and fighting for what I want...and it pisses me off a little bit as well! lol Chronicles So what's next for the girl with the velvet voice? Sandy I'd like to write... not sure how and when, but I think that's my next chapter... get it? Chronicle Lol..yeah I get it Sandy ;), I think you would do just as well writing as you have in radio. Thanks Sandy for taking the time out from your busy schedule to talk to us. Continued success in everything you do and remember we'll be listening.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page